Becoming the Wife

This summer I will say ‘I do’ to the love of my life. I’m overjoyed and excited, but also a little apprehensive about being… the wife!

In my apprehension about domestic life, something very odd is happening to me. There are library books strewn around the house on gardening, making preserves, knitting, and last but not least, wedding dresses. Big, puffy, girly wedding dresses. Have I lost my senses? Perhaps. I’m getting married this summer and although I’ve always thought of myself as a modern woman – independent, ambitious, career-oriented – it appears I’m going ‘wife-y.’ By that I mean I’m becoming one of those women concerned with domestic affairs. And the worst part, or maybe the best part, is I love it! If your not convinced that I’m going wife-y, this ought to do it: yesterday I inherited an ancient Singer sewing machine and I’m thrilled. I already have my first project picked out – cloth backing for the bamboo blinds in the kitchen.

There’s just one problem in all this…. I don’t know much about this domestic stuff. I don’t cook particularly well. I don’t, as yet, know how to operate the sewing machine and I don’t know what to plant in that garden space out back. So, I will become a great student of the art of wifely living. Or perhaps just the class clown. We’ll see…  🙂

About Wife Laura

This summer I will say 'I do' to the love of my life. I'm overjoyed and excited, but also a little apprehensive about being... the 'wife'!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

