Knitting 101… for the sincere but inept knitter

Knitting has always seemed so mysterious to me. How could two straight needles and a ball of yarn produce so many different things? How neat it would be to create an actual “something” with such basic tools. I also love the look of hand knits, from chunky woolen mittens to cozy socks, they are rustic and reminiscent of a timeless family traditions.

So, here I am with a pair of borrowed knitting needles and a few balls of cotton yarn bought on sale. The only thing to do now is learn how. I picked up a few books at the library but found most of them to be, ahem, a little advanced for me. The one that was the most useful was: How to Knit by Debbie Bliss. It has easy projects and lots of pictures.

That said, I still needed to start with something even more basic. So I did what most resourceful people in this decade do, I turned to YouTube. There I found what I will admit is a little cheesy (the host of the “knitting cafe” tries hard to be cooool with the teens she is teaching, which of course has the opposite effect) but it is also an excellent explanation and visual of the basic techniques. There are 12 or so episodes showing everything you need to get started from casting on and casting off, to how to fix a dropped stitch. It looks to be the clearest and simplest knitting tutorial out there. Knitting Tutorial for Beginners 1

And so now I’m knitting a blue scarf. Its a great way to get used to knitting – the feel of it, the rhythem, etc. I hope to wear it proudly next winter! Although, in PEI this Spring, it could almost be worn now!

About Wife Laura

This summer I will say 'I do' to the love of my life. I'm overjoyed and excited, but also a little apprehensive about being... the 'wife'!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Knitting 101… for the sincere but inept knitter

  1. northernnarratives says:

    I hope you learn to love knitting as much as I do … Judy

Leave a Reply

