Nightmare on Heather Street

When I got up this morning I knew my girls (bridesmaids Tammy and Shelley) were coming over and thank god because I had woken up from a horrible nightmare. As we sat around the kitchen table to discuss our dress shopping plans I set down my coffee cup to tell them what had scared the wits out of me…

Last night I had such a vivid dream… It was my wedding day and I was in my white dress. I looked at my watch and it was 2:00. The wedding was suppose to be at 2:oo so I was late!! I was still at home. I was frantically searching for my make up. I jammed it into my purse along with nail polish that I attempted to apply in the car while driving to the location. I thought about how mad John would be with me being so late.

I suddenly realized I had no flowers. So I called Tammy and said, “Can you go to the flower store and get me a boquet and meet me there?!” (while Tammy listened to me telling this story she said, “Oh my god Laura, don’t do that to me on the wedding day!!!”) When I arrived at the Hall/School/Church or where ever it was since locations always change in dreams, I was shoeless. “Tammy! Can you run to my house and get my shoes??!!” I cried out. (Again, listening to this, Tam said, “Don’t you dare do that to me!!!”).

I looked in the mirror and shockingly my hair was not done. People surrounded me trying to pile it up on my head and finally I was ready – about 1 hour late. I was so upset about being late and about still looking rather disheveled that I was just sick about it. I took a deep breath and flung open the doors to enter the room hoping John would still be happy to see me.

There, at the other end of the room, was John’s back. As he turned around, we locked eyes. He wasn’t mad, he was horrified. A quick scan of the room gave me a clue why – there was no one in there, row after row of chairs were all empty. The realization of what the problem was hit us at the same time and so we both shouted out together, “WE FORGOT TO SEND THE INVITATIONS!!!!!” That’s when I woke up.

Tammy laughed hysterically at this, but continued to warn me not to be phoning her 30 minutes before the ceremony with no flowers or shoes! Shelly, ever the therapist, leaned across the table and placed her hand on mine. “Sweetie” she said, “I think your sub-conscience is trying to tell you something… I think it’s telling you to get some wedding plans done.”

So, some wedding plans have indeed been made today – progress has occurred. Shelley and Tammy found beautiful, beautiful dresses for the wedding and Tammy stayed at my place this afternoon helping to finalize lists and make phone calls to venders. Yes, progress has been made. I should sleep easier tonight.

About Wife Laura

This summer I will say 'I do' to the love of my life. I'm overjoyed and excited, but also a little apprehensive about being... the 'wife'!
This entry was posted in Wedding Planning. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

